Chocolate Pumpkin Mug Cake (Two Ways)

Trying to come up with an introduction that doesn’t start off with me apologizing for “being so MIA…I’ve been busy with volleyball and school and life”…and ugh when will it ever stop? I’d much rather be a full-time food blogger, but until my dream of being Juli Bauer (paleOMG) comes true, I guess I’ll just have to wait…sigh. Speaking of Juli-did you see the brownie egg nog pumpkin pie she just posted?! Oh my ‘lanta I NEED IT. NOW. Should actually probably go make it right now…buuut I’ll finish this for you guys first.

So my life lately:

Applying for first jobs.

Yikes, why do I have to grow up? It’s by choice, but after that first interview I have the slightest regrets. Like do I really have to have responsibilities? What even are those? It’s not like the barista life will be that hard though…I applied at two local cafes and Starbucks. Got called back by only one. Not sure if I should be offended by that. Oh well…so you guys want to know what I’m gonna really be?! A cake baker!!! Gluten and dairy and all the other bad, delicious stuff in between (THAT MEANS FROSTING). My first job shadowing is tomorrow. Wish me luck, hopefully I won’t need it.

21 Day Sugar Detox

Make that 10 day sugar detox. I just had to quit for you guys. A recipe was just tugging on my brain, and it wasn’t about to be somethin’ savory. Sorry, it just ain’t the life for me. My sleeping habits are out of whack, and I was hoping to get those back in line, but of course that didn’t happen. I must be Katy Perry because I’m wide awake. The one thing that improved, as always, was the bloat in my stomach. That’s always nice, but I also gained two pounds. Not that weight is everything (or even means things aren’t working right), it’s just currently one of my main goals, so it was disappointing. So I stopped the detox (momentarily) because I wanted to hurry and make as many fall recipes while we still had fall days left.

Anticipating Thanksgiving, Black Friday, and Christmas like crazy

Crazy to say the least. I’m SO EXCITED for Thanksgiving food and family. And Black Friday shopping for CHRISTMAS GIFTS. And Christmas for Christmas gifts AND food AND family. It’s like a huge chain reaction that just leads to a big diamond. (wow, analogy on point, am I right?) But seriously, I already have my Thanksgiving food list made. Heck, I’m already making Thanksgiving food. I also have my Black Friday list ready. And my Christmas list ready. What can I say? I’m a list person.

IDEAS

So I’m sure you don’t want to hear about my ideas about my personal life, but food? Yes..I said FOOD. Read closely now. So my idea: I want to have the seven days of Thanksgiving since I’ve really let you guys down lately by being busy. Gosh, I need to stop that. In most sincerest tone, will you please forgive me with this week full of recipes? (and also forgive me for the images to follow…it was a rough day of food photography).

In case you couldn’t already tell…welcome to day 1 of my seven day special on Thanksgiving food. Enjoy. 🙂

 

Chocolate Pumpkin Mug Cake by PamperedPaleo

Chocolate Pumpkin Mug Cake by Pampered Paleo

Chocolate Pumpkin Mug Cake (Two Ways)

***If you have dietary needs, pick whichever recipe suits those. However, if you want a more gooey chocolate fudge cake, choose the vegan option. If you like a denser cake, choose the paleo option.

serves: 1      prep time: 5 minutes     cook time: 1-1 1/2 minutes

For the vegan/egg free option:

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tablespoon coconut flour
  • 1 Tablespoon cocoa or cacao powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 teaspoons maple syrup (can add more, to taste)
  • 3 Tablespoons pumpkin
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons almond milk or water
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 Tablespoon Enjoy Life chocolate chips, optional
  • Coconut oil, for mug
  • Pumpkin Almond Butter Whip, for topping

Procedure:

  1. Mix coconut flour, cacao powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg.
  2. Combine with the maple syrup, pumpkin, almond milk, and vanilla until well incorporated. If too dry, add a little more almond milk. Finally, mix in the chocolate chips, if using.
  3. Coat mug with coconut oil then add in the batter. Microwave on high for 1 minute to 1 1/2 minutes.

For the paleo option:

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tablespoon coconut flour
  • 1 Tablespoon cacao or cocoa powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ginger
  • 1 egg, whisked
  • 2 teaspoon sweetener (maple syrup, coconut sugar, or honey)
  • 1 Tablespoon pumpkin
  • 1 Tablespoon Enjoy Life chocolate chips, optional
  • Coconut oil, for mug
  • Pumpkin Almond Butter Whip, for topping

Procedure:

  1. Mix coconut flour, cacao powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger.
  2. Combine with the egg, sweetener, and pumpkin until well incorporated. Mix in the chocolate chips, if using.
  3. Microwave on high for 45 seconds.

 

Leave a comment