Pumpkin Cinnamon Buns Ice Cream

Pumpkin Cinnamon Buns Ice Cream by PamperedPaleoIf you follow me on instagram you probably know by now that I’ve had a rough week with my wisdom teeth coming in. I’m getting them taken out soon, but I don’t want to sit out from sports, so I can’t do it for another week or so. Therefore, I must endure this pain and eat only ice cream and eggs. I’m not really complaining though, ice cream isn’t so bad. I’ve been through some amazing ice cream experiences this past week, and I’ve really enjoyed them. Minus the part when I was in tears because I accidentally chewed on a chocolate chip (OW!). So, you ask: what’s the best ice cream? I can easily say I’ve come to the executive decision that it is Ben & Jerry’s Cinnamon Buns Ice Cream. Yes. Not even paleo, not even dairy free, not even gluten free. But oh so delicious. I’ve always been a firm believer that you have to live a little. Especially if you’re going through extreme pain in your mouth-treat yo self. Unfortunately, if I ate a pint of Ben & Jerry’s every day (yes I’ve been eating a pint a day), I would probably be broke and fat really soon. But I’d be fat and happy at least. Really happy. But for that reason (mostly the broke reason), I decided I should try and recreate it–and add a twist. What twist? PUMPKIN of course! So for the 3rd week of Pumpkin Spice Palooza by PamperedPaleo (I just made that up) I present to you-drum roll, please-PUMPKIN CINNAMON BUNS ICE CREAM!!!


IMG_7471

 

 

***If you just want a quick, pumpkin ice cream to enjoy, you can skip the cinnamon caramel swirl and no bake cinnamon roll balls, and just make the pumpkin ice cream. It’s delicious on it’s own, the swirl and cinnamon roll balls just make it that much better. 🙂

Pumpkin Cinnamon Buns Ice Cream:

serves: 4       prep time: 20 minutes       total time: 45 minutes

Ingredients:

For the cinnamon caramel swirl: ***see note above

  • 1 cup coconut sugar
  • 1 can (15 oz.) full-fat coconut milk
  • 1 Tablespoon cinnamon

For the no bake cinnamon roll balls: ***see note above

Make one batch of this recipe!

For the ice cream:

  • 1 1/2 cup almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • 1 can (15 oz.) full-fat coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup, honey, or coconut sugar (I like using 1/4 cup each maple syrup and coconut sugar)
  • 1 Tablespoon pumpkin pie spice

Procedure:

  1. Make the cinnamon caramel first. Mix all ingredients in a medium sauce pan, making sure that the coconut sugar and cinnamon are well combined.
  2. Place over medium-high heat until boiling, and then let it simmer over low heat for 15 minutes, or until it has a thick consistency.
  3. Let the caramel cool while you make your ice cream and cinnamon roll balls. You can place it in the fridge to speed up this process.
  4. While it is cooling, follow this recipe for the cinnamon roll balls. Place them in the fridge or freezer while you make your ice cream.
  5. For the ice cream, whisk together all of the ingredients. Follow the directions for your specific ice cream maker. (If you don’t have an ice cream maker, see the note below)
  6. Once your ice cream is well-churned, stir in the no bake cinnamon roll balls and the cinnamon caramel, leaving some caramel to top it with.

If you do not have an ice cream maker:

  1. Mix the ice cream ingredients together and place in a tupperware bowl, then put in the freezer.
  2. Take it out of the freezer every 30 minutes and stir it. Repeat this until it is ice cream consistency.
  3. Mix in the no bake cinnamon roll balls and cinnamon caramel, leaving some caramel to top it.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Cinnamon Buns Ice Cream

Leave a comment