Choco Choco Zucchini Bread

Choco Choco Zucchini Bread by PamperedPaleoI could just call this double chocolate zucchini bread, but that wouldn’t be as fun. I like the whole “choco choco” thing, because I’m pretty sure choco is my favorite word and I like to take credit for creating it. “Can I have some choco chip cookies? ” “I love choco…latte (lot a?)” “CHOCO CHOCO ZUCCHINI BREAD?! YUM!!!” Sorry about that, here’s more about this recipe that I love so much more dearly than I would have ever imagined: Double Chocolate Zucchini Bread, an infographic. Is that a thing? If not, I’m making it one. So I went to the farmers market with a $100 bill and some change. Idiotic, I know. What I really wanted was watermelon, but they couldn’t split my hundo, and I hate leaving a farmer empty handed (or leaving the farmer’s market empty handed myself), so I found the cheapest thing which was a couple HUGE zucchini for only 50¢ each. Great deal? Yes. Wise deal? No. See the thing is I hate zucchini. Well, not really hate, I don’t really hate anyyy food…I’m one of those people. However, I went through a zucchini phase two springs ago where ALL I ate was zucchini. Steamed zucchini..eck. Just thinking about it makes me think soggy & gross. And then for one of my meal preps during this school year I made a zoodle caprese salad thing that I fell in love with. The first day I ate it at least. The next day, I discovered my hate for basil. So now anytime I think of basil my stomach hurts. I’m not gonna go into gruesome detail of my hate for basil chicken or even the smell or image of it, but YUCK. I’m not judging you if you happen to like any of these foods, I promise. Judge me…yesterday I mixed homemade baconnaise (mayo made with bacon fat) and maple syrup. tbh it was delicious and I’m actually debating making and posting a recipe for it, but I’m afraid when readers see “Maple Mayonnaise” or “Maple Syrup meets Bacon and Mayonnaise” or something of the sorts, they will be scared away. That wouldn’t be good, I don’t want to scare anyone. But if you want to try this please tell me because it’s soooo good I promise and I hate keeping delicious food to myself! Ok, sorry, I need to stop rambling. Actually who am I saying sorry to? I doubt anyone reads everything on here, you’re here for a recipe! (confession: the only blogs I actually read are Paleomg’s and The Paleo Parents’s…the rest I just scroll to the bottom for recipes…woops, my secret’s out!) But I’ll finish my zucchini story because I kind of trailed off, yet I’m not about to delete my details about hating basil chicken and making maple mayonnaise. So I hate zucchini. I’m sorry zucchini lovers, give me some time and I’ll join your club again, but for now it’s not happening because all I can think of is basil chicken and that awful smell. So I came home after foolishly buying a vegetable that I do not like, and tried to think of what to use it for. Like any smart person, I sat down at my computer and went through pinterest. Bing! Bing! Bing! ZUCCHINI BREAD…duh!!! And then I saw this AWESOME looking chocolate zucchini cake with coconut frosting and was so sure that it was paleo. Clicked on the link, and I come to find that it uses refined sugar and all-purpose flour. Kill me if I ever bake with those ingredients again, but actually they would probably kill me first. (get it…like I’d die of stomach ache from gluten…yikes, knock on wood.) Therefore, I had nothing else to do but to make my own recipe, and I’m SO glad I did. It’s amazing!! When I get a good bite with a melted chocolate chip, it reminds me of Brittany Angell’s Paleo Cosmic Brownies, and if you’ve ever made those you know it’s heaven! In fact, I can’t make them anymore because every time I do I eat like half the batch in one sitting and let’s just say it’s kinda bad. I hope you like this Choco Choco Zucchini Bread as much as I do, because it’s soooo yummy!

Paleo Choco Choco Zucchini Bread by PamperedPaleo

Choco Choco Zucchini Bread:

serves: 8-12     prep time: 10 minutes     cook time: 50 minutes     total time: 1 hour

Ingredients:

  • Coconut oil, for pan
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 cup cacao or cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 5 eggs, whisked
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 6 tablespoons honey or maple syrup
  • 1 cup shredded zucchini
  • 1/2 cup Enjoy Life Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips or Mega Chunks

Procedure:

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF and line loaf pan with parchment paper and coconut oil
  2. Whisk together coconut flour, cacao powder, baking soda, and salt.
  3. Add eggs, vanilla, and honey. Stir until well combined.
  4. Mix in zucchini and chocolate chips until combined.
  5. Pour batter into pan and place in oven for 50 minutes or until bread no longer jiggles. Let cool for at least 10 minutes. Store in air-tight container.
Leave a Reply

