The Perfect Parsnip Fries

If you guys follow me on instagram, you probably know by now that I have a bit of an obsession with the whole #sundaynightguacburger trend. So much of an obsession that I insist on grilling burgers like three times a week and eating them with a lettuce bun, guac, and a bunch of other fun toppings. This meal never gets old, but you know what it could use? French fries!!! Like the all-American meal would have to be a burger and fries, so why have I not been eating my burger with fries? I don’t know either. So I just HAD to make the perfect fry recipe, because if you’re eating a good burger, you must have good fries. I hate to toot my own horn, but I pretty much nailed it with these parsnip fries. They have that perfect crispy on the outside, soft on the inside texture, and they taste just like white potatoes. (which if you eat white potatoes..shame on you..just kidding. I’m not a paleo perfectionist either. s/o to you.) Okay enough about french fries, I’m sure you all want an update on my life. Ok, probably not, but this is my blog, I can post what I want to.

So I’m on the 17th day of my 2nd full 21 dsd. (I’ve done week long ones and kinda given up because what’s the right thing if it’s not the right time?) I’m going to be totally honest with you guys, I’m eating fine, but my gum chewing habits kill me! I’ve come a long ways since this time last year when I was literally chewing a pack a day (talk about lung cancer-am I right?!), but I still slip a piece of gum in when I’m around people because it just really wouldn’t be fair to make them smell my rank breath because I’m sugar detoxing. Anywho…that’s about all I have to say about that. Oh, and I’m really seeing the effects dairy has on me during this detox. I’ve had a few bites of cheese here and there during this go around, which I don’t even think is on the “yes” list, but oh well, and it makes me so bloated every time! I’m sure you all appreciate this little blurb about my sugar detox. Other than that, if you haven’t done one yet, please do!! And fully commit yourself, I know I’m not a good example, but the first time I did it I didn’t cheat once and it was amazing and I wish I had that kind of self control now, but I just don’t.

Alrighty, I’ll finally let you get on with your day that I hope is going wonderfully. Here’s your recipe:

The Perfect Parsnip Fries by PamperedPaleo

 

The Perfect Parsnip Fries:

serves: 4     prep time: 5 minutes     cook time: 40 minutes     total time: 45 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 4-6 parsnips
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons fat (bacon fat, coconut oil, ghee, butter, etc.)
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Procedure:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Wash and peel your parsnips, and cut the ends off of them. Cut each parsnip in half or in thirds and then cut into strips, fry size.
  3. Toss the parsnip strips in a bowl with the fat until coated. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and toss again.
  4. Pour the parsnips evenly on the baking sheet so that they aren’t overlapping.
  5. Bake for 40 minutes, tossing them every 10 minutes, so that they can get evenly crispy.

The Perfect Parsnip Fries

If you order by clicking on any of my links and have never ordered from Tropical Traditions in the past, you will receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil, and I will receive a discount coupon for referring you.

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Parsnip Fries

Leave a Reply

