Blueberry Coconut Flour Waffles

Waffles are like the movie trailers of heaven’s cafeteria food. They’re just a preview of all the amazing, perfect food to come in the after life. At least that’s the way I see it. Best waffle I’ve ever had was most definitely PaleOMG’s Churro Waffle. I guess I kind of just dissed the recipe I’m about to post, but I speak the truth. Don’t worry, this blueberry waffle is pretty good too. For the fruitier taste-buds.

Ingredients for Blueberry Coconut Flour Waffles

Okay here’s a quick ingredient line up! I only needed my Pampered Chef batter bowl (which has been redesigned since I bought it), a whisk, and  a waffle maker to make these waffles! I purchased my blueberries, Mediterranean sea salt, pure vanilla extract, and baking soda at my Sam’s Club. Cinnamon I buy organic at Whole Foods in bulk. Eggs I buy at a local meat shop; they’re local, farm fresh, cage free eggs. And lastly, Nutiva is my favorite brand to buy for coconut flour.

Blueberry Coconut Flour Waffles with Blueberry Banana "Fluff" by PamperedPaleo

This recipe made two waffles, so I ended up waking my mom up with her. She was pleasantly surprised, and really enjoyed it…her comment when I brought it to her, “you actually made this and got it ready for me?” well mom, I actually plated it to get some pictures of it, and it was sort of just a luck of the draw. Oh well, it made her day nonetheless.

Blueberry Coconut Flour Waffles by PamperedPaleo

My mom’s waffle was topped with a blueberry banana ‘fluff’ that I’ll post at the end of this page, but I just topped mine with some fresh blueberries, grass-fed butter, and pure maple syrup. Simplicity just can’t be beat. p.s. I don’t know why I post pictures of my awful hands; my thumbs are seriously a curse.

Blueberry Coconut Flour Waffles by PamperedPaleo

This banana blueberry fluff was good, but you might as well just put sliced bananas and whole blueberries on top of your waffle and skip the food processing step, it’d seriously be the same thing, but it was 8 o’clock, and my brain doesn’t function all that well that early in the morning. But other than that, these waffles were pretty great, and I hope you think so too! 🙂

Blueberry Coconut Flour Waffles:

Serves: 2      Total Time: 15 minutes     Prep Time: 5 minutes      Cook Time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 cup dairy free milk (almond, coconut, flax, cashew, etc.)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • Optional: 1 Tablespoon honey or maple syrup

Procedure:

Whisk eggs in bowl. Add dairy free milk, vanilla, and honey or maple syrup (optional).

  1. Add coconut flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Mix until there are no more clumps, and let sit 1 minute for coconut flour to absorb the liquid.
  2. Stir in blueberries.
  3. Pour batter into a greased waffle maker. Repeat until batter is gone.
  4. Top with butter, blueberries, fruit, coconut whip, or the blueberry banana fluff to follow.

 

Blueberry Banana Fluff:

Serves: 1-2       Total Time: 5 minutes     Prep Time: 5 minutes     Cook Time: 0 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 banana
  • Handful of blueberries
  • 1-2 Tablespoons full-fat coconut milk

Procedure:

  1. Combine all ingredients in food processor and puree until smooth.
  2. Serve on top of waffles, pancakes, etc.
One thought on “Blueberry Coconut Flour Waffles

Leave a Reply

