Bacon Roasted Broccoli

A lot of people think I’m crazy for liking vegetables as much as I do. I never understand why though. Like, I honestly look forward to eating carrots and celery with Justin’s maple almond butter and raisins (yes carrots, don’t doubt me, just try it!) But then again, when people make comments like “How can you sit here eating broccoli when there’s cheese-its sitting right there?” I can kind of understand where they’re coming from. I haven’t always liked vegetables, and at times I still don’t. But I know they’re good for me, and I need a lot of them. Plus, when I come up with brilliant recipes like the one to follow, it’s a lot easier to get my greens in. I’ve said this once and I’ll say it again: bacon makes everything better.

broccoli

I originally got the idea for bacon roasted broccoli from Nom Nom Paleo’s roasted brussels sprouts and bacon, and quite honestly I like brussels sprouts better than broccoli, but it’s good to switch up your veggie rotation sometimes. 🙂 I had been eating that recipe for every meal for about 2 weeks, so I figured it might be time to try something new. This recipe was close enough to ‘new’ for me.

Bacon Roasted Broccoli

Please bear with me on my photography guys. I’ve been researching all sorts of food photography tips and tricks, so hopefully I’ll soon advance. But until then, I’m extremely sorry about this…well I don’t know what to call “this”…

Bacon Roasted Broccoli

I enjoyed this with some wonderfully tender pork baby back ribs a few nights ago. The recipe for that was Paleo Cupboard’s “Oven Baked Pork Rib Recipe”. If you’re every looking for a super easy rib recipe, it’s a great one-especially if you like them with some spice!

Bacon Roasted Broccoli

I hope you enjoy this super easy, delicious broccoli recipe! 🙂 It’s one that even the pickiest of eaters will love, I promise!

Bacon Roasted Broccoli:

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups broccoli
  • 1-2 Tablespoon bacon fat, melted
  • 4 strips bacon, cubed
  • Salt and pepper
  • Balsamic vinegar, to taste

Procedure:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Pour bacon fat over broccoli and toss to coat the broccoli with the fat.
  3. Mix in the bacon, salt, and pepper.
  4. Align broccoli on baking sheet in a single layer and place in the oven.
  5. Cook for 30 minutes, flipping broccoli every 10 minutes.
  6. Take out of oven and sprinkle with balsamic vinegar.
  7. Serve and enjoy! 🙂
Leave a Reply

