A Day In the Life

Hello! Welcome to my blog? Not exactly sure how to start off this blog thing, but here goes nothing! I’m a paleo foodie, and I love baking with pampered chef tools, therefore I am calling myself Pampered Paleo. You can find me on instagram @pamperedpaleo to follow my food pictures also! A little background info on me: I’m a teenager who loves health and learning. I’ve been living a healthier lifestyle since about a year ago, and love experimenting with food, recipes, and the way food and exercise makes my body feel. I’m on a mission to be the best me possible, and I’ve found that a paleo diet does that for me. With these eating habits I’m energized and rarely bloated. I’m pretty much able to eat what I want, when I want-as long as it abides to “paleo”-and feel good! I also have recently completed the 21 day sugar detox, and would strongly recommend it! I’ve tried other meal plans, diet “tricks”, etc. to try and achieve my goals, but none have worked well in the long run except for the paleolithic lifestyle! I’m so thankful that I’ve finally found something that works for me, and I want to share my love with this blog along with my instagram! So now that you know a little more about me, here’s “a day in the life”…of me:Breakfast

Breakfast: These apple streusel egg muffins can be found here! They’re packed with protein and just the right amount of carbs to fuel me in the morning! Also had some cucumbers, carrots, and sauerkraut.

%22A Day In The Life%22

Lunch: Cowboy burger with a salad. (burger recipe is from Make Ahead Paleo by Tammie Credicott) Salad is romaine lettuce, cherry tomatoes, 1/4 avocado, cucumber, yellow onion, and a dallop of wholly guacamole. Also had some original gt’s kombucha. (yay for fermented foods!)

%22A Day In The Life%22 copy 2

Dinner: Made my own crockpot chicken and this cauli-mash. (Chicken recipe at the bottom).

%22Day In The Life%22

Finishing my night with some Practical Paleo by Diane Sanfilippo and blog creating :) There is no paleo author/nutritionist/blogger/etc. that I trust more than Diane! 21 DSD was such a great learning experience for me, and not only did the book contain great recipes, but it gave you the knowledge behind the recipes. So far Practical Paleo is pretty much the paleo bible for me. It’s 416 pages full of great info, meal plans, and recipes! (including everything from cauli-rice to bison & butternut cocoa chili!) It’s a must-read for anyone who wants guidance or recipes, and definitely worth the $40 price you pay. p.s. I know amazon was having a sale on this for 50% off! And I just got mine at a local bookstore for 30% off, so I’d take advantage of this deal if I were you :)

Crockpot Chicken:

Ingredients:

4 stalks celery, cut into 3-inch pieces

4 carrots, cut into 3-inch pieces

1 onion, cut in fourths and separated

1 head of garlic, split into whole cloves

2 teaspoons grass-fed butter or lard, melted

2 teaspoons thyme

1 teaspoon paprika

1 teaspoon pepper

1 whole chicken

1 cup broth (I make my own using this recipe)

1 cup peas

1 cup green beans

Preparation:

  1. Place celery, carrots, onion, and garlic cloves in the bottom of a crockpot.
  2. Mix melted butter/lard, thyme, paprika, and pepper. Rub onto your chicken.
  3. Place chicken on top of vegetables.
  4. Pour broth over chicken.
  5. Cook 6-8 hours on low.
  6. Once the 8 hours is up, add in the peas and green beans. Turn the crockpot to high for 15 minutes.
  7. Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

